Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: What would YOU do???

What would YOU do??? 7 years 4 months ago #53783

  • MulliganAgain
  • MulliganAgain's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 3707
  • Thank you received: 955
WHAT WOULD YOU DO IN THIS SITUATION???

Blayne Barber DQ'd himself six days after the end of a tournament.

Blayne advanced easily out of last week's Q School first stage. But something continued to trouble him about his play in the tournament's second round at Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, Ga. Specifically, one tiny leaf.

Barber wasn't sure if he'd brushed a leaf in the sand trap of the course's 13th hole. His caddy, who happens to also be his brother, insisted that he hadn't touched it. But just to be on the safe side, he penalized himself a stroke.

Problem is, the penalty for such an infraction is two strokes, not one. Because his caddy kept insisting there was no movement of the leaf, Barber kept on playing the tournament's next two rounds, rationalizing that it was an unnecessary penalty. But his conscience wouldn't let him go.

"I continued to pray about it and think about it, and I just did not have any peace about it," Barber later told Golfweek. "I knew I needed to do the right thing. I knew it was going to be disqualification."

He called the PGA Tour six days after the tournament's end, and submitted to disqualification because he'd signed an incorrect scorecard. His disqualification moved a full six players into the next stage, because those players tied for 19th and now were tied for 18th, the cut line for advancing.

One sad irony: Barber was five strokes ahead of the cut line, so even the added penalty wouldn't have hurt him. Still, Barber is content with his decision, even though it means he'll have to qualify tournament-by-tournament throughout 2013.

"I just feel peace about it," Barber said. "Doing the right thing and doing what I know is right in my heart and in my conscience is more important than short-term success."
Driver: Cobra Fly-Z,
Woods: Ping G30 3 & 5 Wood
Hybrid: Nike Vapor Flex 4-Hybrid
Irons: WilsonStaff C200 or Mizuno JPX EZ
Wedges: Cleveland Golf RTX 2.0 56*, 60*
Putter: Cleveland Golf - Classic Black Platinum 5.5 with Winn Giant Pistol Grip
Bag: SunMountain PHANTOM

Instagram: sean_likes_golf

Re: What would YOU do??? 7 years 4 months ago #53784

  • Everett
  • Everett's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 132
  • Thank you received: 21
I feel he made the right choice & ultimately it is what the game is based on and he is a true gentleman of the game and this should not derail his further success seeing as even with the 2 stroke penalty he was fine so I think it was the right choice
The following user(s) said Thank You: MulliganAgain

Re: What would YOU do??? 7 years 4 months ago #53785

Love it ! That what golf means to me ! Be honest. He was and I believe that his future will be brighter . You will have the ones say he was stupid for doing it but you can never fault someone for be sincere. I am going to sheer him on.
  • eisemanb76
  • eisemanb76's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • GolfBalled Junkie
  • Posts: 387
  • Thank you received: 62
I give him props for manning up.
Bag -Ogio Grom
Driver -Callaway Diablo Edge 10.5 Degree
Fairway Wood - Rocketballz 17 Degree
Irons - Mizuno JPX-800HD's 4H, 5H, 6-PW
Titleist Vokey 50.08, 56.11
Scotty Cameron Select Newport 1.5
Thanks to the GB community!

Re: What would YOU do??? 7 years 4 months ago #53806

  • johndeere10
  • johndeere10's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • GolfBalled Junkie
  • Posts: 1275
  • Thank you received: 128
Sorry but I think rules like that are completely freaking stupid!!!!!


Like Brian Davis a few years back at The Heritage. His club brushed a reed(grass) while hitting a shot on #18 during a playoff. It didn't move the ball or anything just touched it. Rules like that make absolutely no sense.
johndeere10 wrote:
Sorry but I think rules like that are completely freaking stupid!!!!!


Like Brian Davis a few years back at The Heritage. His club brushed a reed(grass) while hitting a shot on #18 during a playoff. It didn't move the ball or anything just touched it. Rules like that make absolutely no sense.

I hate some of the rules and they need to be changed for sure. But until they do ...